Udaya Kumar Dharmalingam, associate professor in the department of design at the Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati ( IITG) was driving at around 10am on Tuesday, when union home minister Amit Shah presented the President’s Colour to Assam Police at a ceremonial function in the city’s Nehru Stadium.

Udaya Kumar who has been teaching in the premier institute since 2010, designed the one-rupee note in 2009. His creation was selected from among five shortlisted symbols based on the Indian tricolour. The President’s Colour insignia, which the Assam Police officers will now don on the left sleeve, was also designed by Udaya Kumar.

Udaya Kumar Dharmalingam. Pic/News18
President’s Colour presented to Assam Police. Pic/News18

When asked by News18, the educationist said he was not aware and nor did anyone inform him about the special day.

“I had made the presentation of several designs to the Assam Police based on their theme. It was some five-six years back and I don’t know which one was finally selected. When I designed it, I ensured that it represented Assam, symbolised the honour of the state police and paid tributes to the men who made the supreme sacrifice. The stars represent the sacrificed lives. The theme colour is the Assam Police colour. The dominant golden hue represents the richness and shine of the valour of Assam police,” stated Udaya Kumar.

His other designs of the President’s Colour had a rising sun which represented the new dawn. “It took me around one month to design the insignia,” he added.

The President’s Colour is a special flag that is given to a military, paramilitary or police unit as a mark of recognition for its services.

A replica of the flag presented to the unit can be worn as an insignia by all officers and ranks of the force on their uniform. The flag presented to Assam Police has a map of the state with its 36 districts, the force’s insignia, and also the one-horned rhino— the state animal.

Assam Police is the country’s tenth state police force to be awarded the President’s Colour. The other nine states or union territories are Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, Maharashtra, Jammu & Kashmir, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, and Haryana.

The presentation of the President’s Colour to Assam Police coincided with the completion of one year of the BJP-led government in the state.

Read all the Latest News , Breaking News and IPL 2022 Live Updates here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *